Skip to content

Dear Mr. President

June 30, 2017

Dear Mr. President,

I was watching “Morning Joe” yesterday and saw Mika Brzezinski make a rather snarky joke about the fake Time Magazine picture with you on the cover that you had made and hung up in your various properties.  I commented to my wife at the time that I felt the joke was tasteless and mean.

Three hours later I saw your answering tweets insulting both Brzezinski and her co-host that definitely were examples of what your wife said that “when [my] husband gets attacked, he will punch back 10 times harder.”  Since that time you have had to put up with widespread disapproval, including many members of your own party.  I am sure that is annoying.

To be sure, many of your stalwart supporters have rushed to your defense using variations of the “she started it” strategy; a defense that ceased to be effective for me sometime around first grade.  We will see how it works for you.

I know you’ve had a lot of advice, input and comments since then, some of it well-meaning but much of it angry, and I don’t want to trouble your busy day.  But I would like to share a bit of advice from someone I think is wise beyond all others and who has never let me down:

“You have heard that it was said, ‘Eye for eye, and tooth for tooth.’  But I tell you, do not resist an evil person. If anyone slaps you on the right cheek, turn to them the other cheek also.”

I’m pretty sure Vice President Pence knows the guy who said that too.  Ask him about it.

Sincerely,

Someone who prays for you daily

From → Christianity

Leave a Comment

Please share your thoughts

