Skip to content

A Simple Test

June 27, 2017

I have a charismatic friend who has been telling me for months that the American political scene has come under demonic control.  He cites the attitudes and pronouncements of our political leaders in both parties as being so far from Christian values that only demonic possession can explain it.  When I was reluctant to agree he said there was a little test that could show he was right and challenged me to try it.

His test was a simple two-step process.  Step one was that, once I had ascertained the political leaning of whoever I was talking to, I should tell that person that I was worried that politicians, commentators and media pundits on the other side were under demonic control.  I would find that they would quickly agree with that assertion or, at the least, commiserate with why I thought this was so.  In either case I would find happy, even joyous, responses of agreement.

But there was a step two as well.  In this case, once I knew the political leaning of the person I was talking to, I should tell that person that I worried that politicians, commentators and media pundits on their side were under demonic control.  He assured me that I would find that the response would be furious outrage.  He warned me that it would probably include heated disparaging comments about both my intelligence and my morality.

His summary was that only demonic possession could account for this.  Well, for past two weeks or so I’ve been doing as he asked and found that he was right – at least insofar as his predictions as to how people reacted.  My Baptist/Reformed/Free Church background makes me hesitant to jump on board with the whole demon thing.  But overwhelmingly people all but jumped for joy when I was pointing at “the other side” and sputtered with rage when I was talking about those they agreed with.

So how do I account for this?  What do you think?  Demons?  Or what?  I can’t help but think that Jesus is a lot less concerned about these American cultural wars than we are.

From → Christianity

Leave a Comment

Please share your thoughts

