Skip to content

This Weekend in Politics

October 10, 2016

There are a few things I’ve learned about Presidential politics after this past weekend’s news and debate:

  1. After the release of his Access Hollywood tape I’ve learned that Donald Trump is just as vulgar as I thought he was.
  2. After the release of her speech including her claim to need both a public and private stance on issues I’ve learned that Hillary Clinton is just as much a conniving politician as I thought.
  3. When Presidential debates resumed in 1976 after a 16 year hiatus one of the purposes was to keep the discussion both civil and about the issues. It was assumed that a face-to-face meeting would be more polite.  That hasn’t worked.
  4. The all-time low approval ratings for both Trump and Clinton will probably continue to fall.
  5. It appears that “he is worse than I am” is an acceptable defense on character issues.
  6. Back in the 90s my Republican friends assured me that Bill Clinton’s personal failings were reason enough to never vote for him. They are now telling me that Trump’s personal failings can be safely ignored in the voting booth.
  7. I haven’t a clue as to what Jesus would say if I asked Him how to vote but I suspect He sees my decision as far less essential to my faith than most Christians are telling me.
From → Christianity

Leave a Comment

Please share your thoughts

