Skip to content

Whew!

November 4, 2014

Well, today is Election Day and many of us in North Carolina can only say “Thank you God!”  We’ve finally made it to the end of months of political ads on TV and radio, robo-calls to our phones and mailboxes flooded with blistering attacks on one candidate or another.  Because Peggy and I are registered as Independents, and presumably because they know we both qualify as senior citizens, both parties have called to offer rides to the polling place in our local library; someplace we walk to at least two or three times a month.

Since our Senate race is close, and may tip the balance of power in the Senate one way or another, the race there has been the most expensive in the nation.  Ads for the two candidates have been unrelenting for months, almost all of them telling us how bad the other one is.

If I am to believe the ads, the Republican so hates women, school children and seniors, and so favors the rich, the only way I will be able to avoid a tax Armageddon if he wins is to buy a yacht so I can get the tax breaks he wants to give me.   Meanwhile I’ve learned that our Democratic candidate is apparently is such a stooge for President Obama that I am beginning to suspect that she is not truly human but rather an android plant he has slipped into the Senate.

This past Sunday our pastor asked for a show of hands as to who had already voted early and, since only a few had, another show of hands as to who intends to vote.  He then urged us all to vote.  This is entirely understandable as it would fit with the “Souls to the Polls” movement among churches that has been promoted in our state.  Sadly for our pastor, that movement is urging people to go out and vote who are certain to vote in exactly the opposite way he did.

Church goers have as much right to vote as anyone else.  We certainly should vote our convictions.  But, as is clear from the previous paragraph, there is no consensus on just what those convictions need to be.  I find myself in agreement with evangelical historian Randy Balmer who, in his work God in the Whitehouse, said this:

“My reading of American religious history is that religion always functions best from the margins of society and not in the councils of power. Once you identify the faith with a particular candidate or party or with the quest for political influence, ultimately it is the faith that suffers.”

Putting it another way evangelical Ed Stetzer  said:

“When you combine religion and politics you get just politics.”

I find myself pondering this question – Do I have any reason to believe that Jesus is concerned about who wins any election, let alone a Senate race in one state?  I think when I vote I will remind myself that Jesus has absolutely nothing riding on the outcome; and that He loves all the voters equally and even those who didn’t vote.

From → Christianity

One Comment
  1. I am a Christian, and I’ve never voted. I also don’t sit around complaining about the outcomes. It just doesn’t interest me at all. I am in this world to manifest the image of God by loving others. I don’t have time to study candidates and figure out who to vote for. I believe voting is entirely up to each individual. I don’t believe it’s the “Christian” thing to do, or everything hangs on one person’s vote. No matter who is in charge, this world remains in darkness and we need to shine the light more than ever. Good post. God bless.

Please share your thoughts

