Skip to content

Can Somebody Help Me?

February 5, 2014

I’ve been watching the same Super Bowl ad over and over for quite some time now.  It is the Coca Cola ad where “America the Beautiful” is being sung in several languages in addition to English.  If you haven’t seen the ad it is worth checking out.

What has me watching it repeatedly comes from the furor that has erupted on the right over this outrageous (they say) ad.  Even before the Super Bowl was over Tea Party favorite Alan West was blogging about how “truly disturbing” the ad was and said “If we cannot be proud enough as a country to sing ‘American (sic) the Beautiful’ in English in a commercial during the Super Bowl, by a company as American as they come — doggone we are on the road to perdition,”

Glen Beck was also outraged but perhaps that can be excused because he is outraged for a living.  Fox News commentator Todd Starnes wondered if “Coca Cola is the official soft drink of illegals crossing the border.”  There is even a #Boycott Coke hashtag on Twitter.

I’m not sure whether to laugh or cry but I am thankful that, as far as I have been able to find, no prominent Christians have expressed interest in jumping into this melee.

But there is one negative comment that really has me stumped.  Over at the conservative Breitbart website Michael Patrick Leahy was also offended and made his thoughts clear.  But then he added that the “ad also prominently features a gay couple.”  It does?

So here is my problem – can somebody find the gay couple for me?  There seem to be too many choices.  It turns out that I am really not very good and spotting who is gay.  Although, come to think of it, that inability may well be part of the grace God shed on me in response to the appeal in the hymn.  Maybe I am not “called” to play silly guessing games.

Trivia footnote:  Did you know that the music for America the Beautiful was originally written in 1882 for the Christian Hymn “O Mother dear, Jerusalem?”  For some inexplicable reason that hymn has failed to become a timeless classic.

From → Christianity

2 Comments
  1. I did not see the ad. I missed it and since Coke already has my business, I don’t need to be convinced;) Someone did mention the gay couple but besides this blog and that one person, I haven’t heard anything else about the gay couple. As for the English language stuff, only one person I follow was irritated, so I think the media has made it a big deal while your average person doesn’t care. The media will stir up trouble that doesn’t exist to distract from the real issues out there. Sadly, many take the bait. Sort of like the Cheerios commercial with the mixed race family. I never noticed it until the media pointed it out, saying that right-wing conservatives were all in uproar. Well, I’m a right-wing conservative and I thought it was the sweetest commercial. Hey, at least the parents are married, right? (I’m kidding…)

    • As far as I know, only one person blogged about the gay person at the time but I’ve seen the accusation repeated now. Stuff like this gets pickeed up and spread. Thanks for the thoughts.

Please share your thoughts

