Skip to content

Derek Jeter & Global Warming

January 25, 2013

It’s cold today where I am.  I look out my window and see some snow flurries even now.  The prediction is for 0.1 inches of “frozen precipitation” sometime later today and, as is usual here in the snow-starved south, everyone is in a panic.  Schools are closing early and government officials are urging us to stay off the roads if we possibly can.  They are also urging us to stay calm.

Most of us, or at least those of us who are somewhat immune to conspiracy theories, tend to believe in global warming based on the temperature now, here where we are.  Since it is cold today the “global warming is a myth” theory seems credible.  Next week is supposed to be near 70 in NC so the percentage of us that believe global warming is real will probably tick up a few points.  We really need experts to guide us on this issue.  Well, the good news is that one has arrived.

The past few days has seen the Davos World Economic Forum.  I’m sure you have been following the news from this forum closely each day.  Leaders of government and business have gathered in Switzerland to discuss key economic issues and how they will affect us.  One such expert is Derek Jeter, the long-term all-star shortstop of the NY Yankees.  He was invited by Pepsi to give his thoughts on climate change.  It turns out he thinks global warming is real, which I expect will silence the doubters once and for all.  Even if it doesn’t at least it gave me the opportunity to use Derek Jeter, Pepsi and climate change in the same continuous thought.

I’m not quite sure why global warming is such a contentious issue.  The overall data seems to clearly show that the earth is getting warmer.  It is also quite believable that we humans are part of the reason why this is happening.  It always seems to me that the one question everyone skips is the one that should be foundational – what temperature should the earth be?  I suspect nobody knows the answer and most of us sort of default to believing that whatever temperature it is now is the right one.  We’d be just as upset if the earth was cooling as we are that it is warming.

As I Christian I suppose that I ought to have a “Biblical view of global warming.”  With that in mind I googled that phrase and, sure enough, there are hundreds of fellow-believers ready to tell me what the Biblical view is.  You can see one of them here.  Another assures me that “anytime we need a Christian view on something we ought to go to the Bible first.”  Almost all of the articles I read, and I confess I stopped after the first 25 of the thousands of choices, are sure that global warming is either not happening or nothing we need to do anything about.  I’m not sure why that is.  So here are the questions that I have been pondering.

–          Is there such a thing as “a Christian view of global warming?”

–          Does my belief in inerrancy require me to believe that embedded in the Bible is the answer to absolutely every question on every subject?

–          If two Christians have different views of global warming, is one of them sinning?

The flurries out my window have switched over to sleet.  I am not sure what the Biblical view of that is.

From → Christianity

2 Comments
  1. ChristianMathLover permalink

    Not sure what the ‘biblical view’ is but this article shows a weak case for global warming.
    http://www.statisticsblog.com/2012/12/the-surprisingly-weak-case-for-global-warming/

  2. ” If two Christians have different views of global warming, is one of them sinning?”

    Could be sin on either side of the issue: pride, sloth, arrogance, willful ignorance, etc.

    For Christians who want to be informed with a basic scientific understanding, an excellent place to start is with a Jewish scientist [who is an actual scientist who works in this field] who has been slandered, even by Christians, as a holocaust “denier” but who is respected by his fellow scientists, even if they do not agree totally.
    “The claims that the earth has been warming, and that man’s activities have contributed to warming, are trivially true and essentially meaningless in terms of alarm.”–Prof. Richard Lidzen

    http://wattsupwiththat.files.wordpress.com/2010/05/lindzen_heartland_2010.pdf

Please share your thoughts

